Disclosure: Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Listings are independent and sponsored placements are always labeled. Learn more.
Best Free AI Tools for Financial Advisors
Short answer: ChatGPT is our top free pick for drafting, summarizing and research, and Claude's free plan is the pick for long documents and careful writing. For everything else, use the free plan built for the job: Grammarly for polishing emails, Fathom for notes on internal calls, Canva for graphics, Descript for video, Buffer for scheduling and Trust & Will's free advisor plan for client wills and trusts.
Updated 9 picks chosen on 5 criteria from vendor-published facts; no paid placement in the ranking. How we chose
Every tool on this page has a free plan that the vendor states on its own website, not just a free trial. That's a deliberate filter: plenty of advisor tools offer a trial, but a free plan is something you can keep using while you learn what AI is good for in your practice. We list what each free plan includes and, where the vendor says, what it's limited to.
Free plans are individual plans, and their data terms can differ from business plans. Our guide to free AI tools for financial advisors covers how to use them safely; this page is the ranked list of which free tool to use for which job.
Not advice: this roundup is general information, not compliance, legal, tax or investment advice. Check any tool with your firm's compliance team before you use it with client information.
Our top picks
Ordered by how well each tool fits the criteria below for this job. How we chose
1. ChatGPT · General AI assistants
Best for: Free drafting, summarizing and research
ChatGPT can draft client emails, summarize articles, explain financial concepts in plain language and help outline content, and OpenAI offers a free plan to everyone. It's the most versatile free starting point, and when the firm is ready, the Business plan (from 2 users) adds team administration.
Watch out: Free is an individual plan; firms usually need Business or Enterprise for admin controls. Confirm with compliance which plan, if any, is approved for client information.
2. Claude · General AI assistants
Best for: Free help with long documents and careful writing
Claude is useful for summarizing long reports, drafting careful written communications and turning notes into structured documents, and Anthropic offers a free plan. Use it alongside or instead of ChatGPT when the job is a long document or a letter that has to read well.
Watch out: Usage limits differ by plan, so heavy use may push you to a paid plan. Check firm policy before uploading client documents, and use Team or Enterprise if several people will use it.
3. Gemini · General AI assistants
Best for: Free AI for firms that run on Google Workspace
Gemini is Google's assistant for writing, planning and brainstorming, and it's free with a Google Account. It's the natural free pick if your practice already lives in Gmail, Docs and Sheets. If your firm runs on Microsoft 365, Copilot will fit your apps better.
Watch out: Firms on Google Workspace should compare the business editions, not consumer plans, and check whether your archiving vendor captures Workspace content.
4. Grammarly · Client communication & email
Best for: Free polishing for emails and articles
Grammarly provides AI writing guidance in the apps and websites you already use, and the vendor advertises free AI writing assistance. It's the easiest free upgrade to everyday client email: you keep writing where you write now, and it suggests fixes as you go.
Watch out: Check where text is processed if you paste client details, and use your firm's approved tone and disclosures. If you need first drafts more than editing, start with a general assistant.
5. Fathom · Meeting notes & CRM notes
Best for: Free notes on internal video calls
Fathom records, transcribes and summarizes Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls, with AI action items, and the vendor says it is free for individuals. It's the low-risk way to see what an AI notetaker does on internal meetings before your firm chooses an advisor-built one for client meetings.
Watch out: It's a general business tool, not built around advisor recordkeeping. Use it for internal meetings unless your firm has approved it for client meetings, and check recording consent rules first.
6. Canva · Social media & content marketing
Best for: Free social graphics and presentations
Canva lets you create social media posts, presentations, posters, videos and logos, with built-in AI design features, templates and a large stock library. The vendor describes it as free to use; the free plan is a good place to learn, and brand kits are where it's limited.
Watch out: Brand kits are limited on Free, and AI allowances vary by plan. Route anything public through your firm's marketing review.
7. Descript · Social media & content marketing
Best for: Free video and podcast editing
Descript lets you record, transcribe, edit and publish video and audio by editing the transcript text, with Studio Sound and filler-word removal. Its free plan lets you try that workflow on a market-update video or podcast; AI voices and the stock media library are on paid plans.
Watch out: Keep compliance-approved versions of published videos, and review any AI voice features against your marketing policy before using them. For short clips from existing webinars, OpusClip's free plan is simpler.
8. Buffer · Social media & content marketing
Best for: Free social scheduling for a few accounts
Buffer helps you create and schedule social content across channels consistently, and its forever free plan covers up to 3 channels. That's enough for an advisor posting to up to three networks; paid plans are priced per channel.
Watch out: Buffer doesn't archive for compliance, so check how posts reach your archive. If your firm requires an archiving-integrated social tool, it's not a fit.
9. Trust & Will · Tax return & document analysis
Best for: Getting clients a will or trust at no cost to you
Trust & Will's advisor platform lets you send clients through guided will and trust creation and track progress from one dashboard. Its Basic advisor plan is free, includes an AI Estate Assistant and AI summaries of uploaded trusts, wills and powers of attorney, and clients pay for their own estate plan at a discount.
Watch out: It's best suited to simpler estates; check complex-estate needs with an attorney. Confirm your compliance team is comfortable with client referral links before sending any.
How the picks compare
Each cell restates what the vendor says on its own website, as recorded in our listing. “Not stated” means we didn't find it there, not that the tool lacks it. Scroll sideways on small screens; the tool column stays in view.
| Tool | Job it does | What's free | Free-plan limits | Paid step up | Check first |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.ChatGPTFree drafting, summarizing and research | Drafting, summarizing, research and outlines | Free plan available to everyone | Not stated in our listing | Business (from 2 users) or Enterprise for admin controls | Confirm which plan, if any, is approved for client information |
| 2.ClaudeFree help with long documents and careful writing | Long documents, careful writing, notes into structured documents | Free plan available | Usage limits differ by plan | Pro for one person; Team for 2 to 150 people | Check firm policy before uploading client documents |
| 3.GeminiFree AI for firms that run on Google Workspace | Writing, planning and brainstorming across Google's apps | Free with a Google Account | Not stated on vendor site | Gemini Enterprise business editions for teams | Confirm data-handling terms for the edition you use |
| 4.GrammarlyFree polishing for emails and articles | Polishing emails and articles inside the apps you use | Free plan available | Full-sentence rewrites are on Pro | Pro; Enterprise for team administration | Check where text is processed before pasting client details |
| 5.FathomFree notes on internal video calls | Notes, transcripts and action items for video calls | Free forever plan for individuals | For individuals; team plans need at least 2 users | Team or Business plans, which add CRM field mapping | Recording client meetings: firm policy and state consent laws |
| 6.CanvaFree social graphics and presentations | Social graphics, presentations, posters and short videos | Free plan available | Brand kits limited on Free; AI allowance varies by plan | Pro for one person; Business per person | Route public posts through marketing review |
| 7.DescriptFree video and podcast editing | Editing video and audio by editing the transcript | Free plan available | AI voices and stock media library are on paid plans | Hobbyist, Creator or Business, per person | Keep compliance-approved versions of published videos |
| 8.BufferFree social scheduling for a few accounts | Scheduling social posts | Free forever plan for up to 3 channels | Up to 3 channels and 10 scheduled posts per channel | Essentials or Team, priced per channel | Buffer doesn't archive for compliance; check your archiving |
| 9.Trust & WillGetting clients a will or trust at no cost to you | Guided wills and trusts for clients; AI estate summaries | Free advisor plan; clients pay for their own estate plan at a 10% discount | Clients pay for their own plans; extra support on paid tiers | Growth or Premium for more support and complimentary client plans | Confirm compliance is comfortable with client referral links |
Sources: each vendor's website as restated in our tool listings, and the pricing pages linked in the pricing snapshot below. Updated October 23, 2026.
Pick by need
| If you need | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| First drafts of emails and articles | ChatGPT | Free plan available to everyone. |
| Summaries of long reports | Claude | Free plan; usage limits apply. |
| AI inside Gmail, Docs and Sheets | Gemini | Free with a Google Account. |
| Searchable transcripts of webinars | Otter.ai | Basic plan: 300 transcription minutes a month. |
| Short clips from a webinar | OpusClip | Free forever plan. |
| Cleaner client emails | Grammarly | Works in the apps you use. |
| Notes on internal video calls | Fathom | Free for individuals. |
| Client wills and trusts | Trust & Will | Free advisor plan; clients pay. |
Pricing snapshot
Starting list prices in USD, read from each vendor's pricing page on the date shown. Plans, minimums and add-ons are on each tool's pricing page.
| Tool | Starting price | Free option | Prices as of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Free; paid from $8/mo | Free plan available to everyone. | October 21, 2026 | ChatGPT pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Claude | Free; Pro from $17/mo | Free plan available. | October 21, 2026 | Claude pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Gemini | Free; paid from $4.99/mo | Free with a Google Account. | October 21, 2026 | Gemini pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Grammarly | Free; Pro $12/mo | Free plan available. | October 21, 2026 | Grammarly pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Fathom | Free; paid from $15/user/mo | Free forever plan for individuals. | October 21, 2026 | Fathom pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Canva | Free; Pro $144/yr | Free plan available. | October 21, 2026 | Canva pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Descript | Free; from $16/person/mo | Free plan available. | October 21, 2026 | Descript pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Buffer | Free; from $5/channel/mo | Free forever plan for up to 3 channels. | October 21, 2026 | Buffer pricing (opens in a new tab) |
| Trust & Will | Free; paid from $2,500/yr | Free advisor plan; clients pay for their own estate plan at a 10% discount. | October 22, 2026 | Trust & Will pricing (opens in a new tab) |
“Contact vendor” means the vendor publishes no price. Vendors change prices often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
How we chose
Every fact about a tool on this page comes from the vendor's own website, as restated in our tool listings. Prices come from each vendor's pricing page on the date shown beside them in the pricing snapshot; when a vendor publishes no price, we say "Contact vendor" rather than guess.
What we didn't do: we haven't tested these tools hands-on, we don't publish ratings, scores or user reviews, and no vendor paid to be included or ranked. "Not stated" in the comparison table means we didn't find that point on the vendor's site, not that the feature is missing, so it's a question for the demo.
What counts as free: a free plan stated in our pricing data or tool listing, captured from the vendor's site. Free trials alone don't qualify, so tools such as Jump, Wealthbox, RightCapital, Holistiplan and Jasper, which offer trials, aren't ranked here.
How we ordered the picks: by how broadly useful the free plan is across an advisory practice. The three general assistants (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini) come first because they help with almost every written task, then Grammarly for polishing, Fathom for internal meeting notes, and the three marketing tools (Canva, Descript, Buffer). Trust & Will is last because its free plan serves one specific job, getting clients a will or trust.
The criteria
Job it does
What is the free plan useful for?
Pick the free tool built for the job instead of forcing one tool to do everything.
What's free
What does the vendor say is free?
"Free" can mean a free plan for everyone, for individuals only, or for the advisor while clients pay.
Free-plan limits
What limits does the vendor state for the free plan?
Limits on minutes, channels, brand kits or features decide how long a free plan lasts you.
Paid step up
Which paid plan would you move to, and why?
Firms usually need paid team plans for admin controls and business data terms.
Check first
What should you check before using it for work?
Free consumer plans may have different data terms from business plans.
Independence: sponsorship never changes which tools we pick, their order or what we say about them. Featured and sponsored placements are paid, always labeled and shown separately from these picks. Some links are affiliate links; that doesn't affect picks either. How we make money
Compare and switch
Keep researching
- Free AI tools for advisors: how to use them safely
- Can financial advisors use ChatGPT?
- Best general AI assistants
- Best AI meeting notetakers
- Best AI for video and social content
- Copy-and-paste AI prompts for advisors
- How to write an AI acceptable use policy
- Best AI tools for solo advisors
- All in-depth roundups
FAQ
What counts as a free AI tool on this page?
A tool whose vendor states a free plan on its own website, as recorded in our pricing data. Free trials don't count, because they end. Each pick shows exactly what the vendor says is free, for example a free plan for individuals or a free advisor plan where clients pay.
Can I use a free plan with client information?
Usually not by default. Free plans are individual plans, and their data terms may differ from business plans. Keep client information out unless your firm has approved that tool and plan, and use free tools for learning, internal work and public content that goes through review.
Which free AI tool should an advisor try first?
A general assistant, because it helps with the most tasks: ChatGPT for drafting and research, or Claude for long documents and careful writing. Once you know where AI saves you time, add the free tool built for that job, such as Fathom for internal meeting notes or Canva for graphics.
What limits do free plans have?
It varies, and not every vendor states its limits. Otter's Basic plan includes 300 transcription minutes a month, Buffer's free plan covers up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel, Canva limits brand kits on its free plan and Fathom's free plan is for individuals. Check the vendor's page for current limits.
Why aren't Jump, Wealthbox or Holistiplan on this list?
They offer free trials rather than free plans, so they don't meet this page's definition of free. Trials are a good way to evaluate paid tools; each tool's pricing page notes whether a trial is offered.
When should we move from free plans to paid ones?
When AI touches client information, needs admin controls or has to fit your recordkeeping. At that point, business plans of general assistants and advisor-built tools for meeting notes and compliance usually fit better than free consumer plans.
Is Trust & Will really free for advisors?
Its Basic advisor plan is free, and clients pay for their own estate plan at a 10% discount. Paid Growth and Premium plans add more support and, on Premium, complimentary client estate plans. It's suited to simpler estates; complex estates still need an attorney.
More in-depth roundups
See all Best AI roundups or browse every category.